![]() |
|
|
| DATABASES | WEBSITES | RESOURCES | RESEARCH PROCESS | ASSIGNMENTS | SEARCH ENGINES | FOR TEACHERS | FOR STUDENTS | NEW ACQUISITIONS | OTHER LIBRARIES | MEDIA CENTER INFORMATION |
![]() |
. For more information click here |
NJ
State Databases
For more information click here |
|
Interlibrary Loan Your
ID # is your Library Card. |
Research Library Periodicals: Social Issues, Health, Science, History, Business For more information click here . |
with Critical Thinking Module
For more information click here. |
|
For more information click here |
|
Science, History, Curric.Resources, Government, Law, Maps, Multicultural, Health, Careers, Literature. For
more information
click here. |
|
World Book Advanced
World Book Student Online Reference Center For more information click here |
For more information click here |
Find
fiction titles by subject categories. |
|
|
Historical
|
Exploring Everyday Life Past and Present. American and world popular culture, past and present. For more information, click here |
|
Video, Lesson Plans, Multimedia resources (Faculty - full access; Students - limited) For more information, click here |
American history, Social issues, Movements, Campaigns, Elections, Primary sources For more information, click here |
Diseases, Disorders, Health, Literature, Renaissance, Reformation.
For more information click here |
|
***Many of the above databases are available to PCTI at reduced or no cost through the New Jersey State Library System and Highlands Regional Library Cooperative.*** |
NoveList continues to allow readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of interest. In addition, three powerful search techniques allow readers to look for books by entering descriptive terms that appear in subject headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records. Users can still browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction. Many title records have direct links to Web sites with information about the author or teacher resource materials.
Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. These features have been developed specifically with NoveList users in mind, offering support for librarians, teachers, and individual readers. The For Staff Only sections provide additional support for readers' advisory and school curricula. Hypertext links from title records allow the user to go directly to articles or guides that mention the title, as well as to the lists in Explore Fiction or Best Fiction where the titles appear.
NoveList contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. NoveList contains full-text reviews for adult, young adult, children's and easy fiction titles from several journals, including: Booklist, School Library Journal, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly. In addition to these reviews, there are annotations and summaries, and all of them are searchable!
How to access Novelist URL: http://search.ebscohost.com
Remote Access Information available at the Media Center
How to access EBSCOhostWeb URL: http://search.ebscohost.com
Remote Access Information available at the Media Center
JerseyClicks
is New Jersey’s statewide portal that features federated
searching of the suite of statewide full-text databases.
Quick Search searches the full-text of thousands of
magazines, newspapers, reference books and biographies as well as
indexed images including photographs, maps and flags – all from
licensed databases purchased for you by the New Jersey Library
Network.
Databases
are particularly good for retrieving full-text articles from
popular magazines and newspapers, in addition to, professional
journal articles of interest to business, medical, education
(ERIC) and
world history researchers.
Custom
and Keyword Search opens portals to atlases, career guidance,
science topics, authors, and book information.
If you are off campus, you may use your municipal library card to login at the site or the PCTI JerseyClicks number (available from the Media Center).
Proquest Research Library
Proquest is a resource database of collections of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles that you may search for information about a particular subject. There are five search methods: basic, guided, advanced, natural language, and by periodical.
How to access ProQuest URL: http://www.proquest.com/pqdauto (On Campus)
http://proquest.umi.com/login (Remote access)
Remote Access Information available at the Media Center
Historical New York Times (Proquest)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™—The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times. It offers complete coverage from 1851-2001.
As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, the database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. And the database just keeps growing, with a new year’s content added annually.
The Historical New York Times gives researchers quick, accurate Web access to history as it was reported by the nation’s leading newspaper with:
How to access ProQuest URL: http://www.proquest.com/pqdauto (On Campus)
http://proquest.umi.com/login (Remote access)
Remote Access Information available at the Media Center
***The database has a default to current informational databases. YOU MUST SELECT "NEWS - THE HISTORICAL NEW YORK TIMES" in the database drop-down arrow box before conducting your search.
How to use:
1. Key Word search – Use words that would be in the newspaper article.
For example: Do not use Lincoln’s assassination. Do use: Lincoln shot
2. Date search (This is the date when the article was reported in the paper, not of the event. – This could be used in combination with the word search or by itself.
For example: In the Date Range box, select From and put in 01/01/1865 to 12/31/1865. Click SEARCH.
Hint: News took some time to be reported years ago, especially in remote areas of the country and world.
For example: General Custer's last stand occurred on June 26, 1876. In the Basic Search box, type the word CUSTER. In the Date Range box, select From and put in 06/26/1876 to 07/10/1876. Click SEARCH.
Another example to try: John F. Kennedy was shot in Dallas, Texas, on November22, 1963. In the Basic Search Box, type Kennedy and Dallas. In the Date Range box, select From and put in 11/22/1963 to 11/25/1963. Click Search.
How to access Facts On File URL: http://www.fofweb.com/ip
Username and Password Information available at the Media Center
|
Issues and Controversies in American History
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
|
|
U.S. Government Online
Presents in-depth information on the structure and function of the U.S. government and its everyday role in the lives of citizens. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
American Women's History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
African-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
American Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
World Atlas
Combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
Health Reference Center
Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more! Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo
Curriculum Resource Center
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum. Info Sheet (PDF); Icon; Search Widget; Flash Demo Coming Soon |
PCTI
E-books |
|
| Gale Virtual Reference (http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/pcti_main) | |
| Username and password available at the Media Center for PCTI patrons. | |
|
The PCTI Media Center is the proud owner of a number of E-book reference sources. They can be accessed via:
|
|
|
Advantages:
|
|
| Books available: | |
GALE Biography Resource Center
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/pcti_main
Username and password available at the Media Center for PCTI patrons.
This database combines award-winning biographies from
respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes
full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one
or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity,
occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom
search.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/pcti_main
Username and password available at the Media Center for PCTI patrons.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the
acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core
reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide
a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint
articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and
full-text magazine and newspaper articles

Username and password available at the Media Center for PCTI patrons.
SIRS offers thousands of full-text articles, graphics, photographs, government documents and more in his or her library or from your home computer. SIRS reference products have been at the forefront of the information industry for thirty years. Their online databases reflect their dedication to providing credible, reliable and current information on the social issues, science, health, history, government, business, and the arts and humanities.
SIRS editors with advanced degrees in Library Science, History and English, select articles that reflect both sides of current and enduring issues from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, government documents and wire services.
|
|
SIRS
Researcher® General Reference, Social Issues, Health, Science, and Business SIRS Researcher® is a general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political and global issues. Some of the additional features include: Focus on Terrorism – a site that provides in-depth information on global terrorism issues in Iraq, Afghanistan, the Middle East, India-Pakistan and in the U.S.; Leading Issues – 100 of the most researched issues with links to articles, documents, graphics and Web sites, as well as "Your Top 10 Choices", which are listed in order of the most accessed subjects; SIRS Newest – provides instant access to the "Newest Articles" and "Newest Graphics" added to SIRS Databases.; and Today's News – up-to-the-minute national and global news stories and photographs from Reuter's wire services.
For
help with navigating the database click
here. |
|
|
SIRS
Government Reporter® Historic and Government Documents, Directories and Almanacs SIRS Government Reporter® is a database of full-text government documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Also included are landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions and a directory of the Justices; Federal Agency and U.S. Congress Directories; Country Profiles including maps of more than 200 countries; National Archives Documents; Historic Documents; biographical, information with photographs or portraits of each U.S. President; and more. For help with
navigating the database click
here. |
|
|
The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. | ||
| World Book Online Reference Center | Encyclopedia, Dictionary, Atlas, Educator Tools, Explore New Jersey | ||
| World Book Advanced | Designed for high school and college students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedic, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. | ||
|
World Book Student
|
The redesigned and upgraded version of World Book Online Reference Center, includes the articles of the World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more. | ||
| A comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia that includes over 100,000 articles, more than 9,000 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, sounds, and interactive media. | |||
| L'Encyclopédie Découverte | Offers World Book’s excellent editorial content and rich media in French. | ||
|
The World Book Web http://www.worldbookonline.com/wb/products?ed=all |
|||
|
Username and password available at the Media Center for PCTI patrons. |
|||
|
|
|||
|
. |
|
|
![]()
|
|
. |
|